Movement of the Progressive Sense

I almost hesitate to write this, because every time I start documenting my progress I seem to fall of that productivity wagon. This time I’m determined to make it stick. After years of cycling through that start/stop process, I’m hoping that this is the time where I just continue on; bypassing that dreaded stop altogether.

I suppose it is only logical to start from the beginning, and by that I mean the most recent “start” I embarked on. Otherwise this would be a dreadfully long post, and nobody wants to sit through all that, least of all me.

On September 20, 2016, I did it once again. I started. This time was different, I told myself as I pushed through workout after grueling workout. I made goal for myself, if I could just workout at least three to six times a week from that day until the end of the year I would be off to a good start. What was forty-five to ninety days out of the last one-hundred-and-two days of the year, after all? It might seem steep, but I wrote it down and I made a check list to prove it.

So far I’ve done twenty-one days of that goal, and I’m feeling a bit pleased. Four weeks in and I’m still going, I’d like to say strong but I still have those days where I collapse mid workout, or simply get too distracted to continue forth. The fact that I put in the effort, and did something is pushing me through. Who knows, maybe by the end of the year I’ll be finding it hard to stop working as opposed to starting. That is the dream.

I’m writing this post because I’ve made it to that four week point, and I’m proud. Never before has this been a level I achieved. Usually somewhere by the end of week two or three I’m done. In fact last time I barely started the second week before I asked myself “what is the point”.

It’s not like I started each journey thinking it would be easy. Each time I began I knew it was going to take a lot out of me, but I didn’t exactly care. I wanted to become strong, I wanted to see results, and most of all I wanted to feel confident in my own skin like I have never felt before. Strength isn’t something that is only found in muscles and outward appearance unfortunately, because my inner strength was never enough to keep that motivation burning. This time I think I figured that out, and I hope by the end of week eight I am still feeling that drive and determination.

Am I seeing results? In all honesty, no. I’m not even feeling them. Some day’s I do wake up with that pleasantly sore ‘workout’ feeling, and others I feel much the same as I do every other day. Is that enough to make me give up? Not this time. I know that I can do more, and I’m not seeing results because I’m not pushing myself as I should be. One day, I will get to that point of push and results. Right now I’m more focused on getting in the rhythm.

It’s all about forming the habit, and I’m hoping to get in the groove of that before I go any further. T25 is my chosen workout, and by the time I reach the end of the 12 week program I plan to either restart the same regimen, or look at starting a new one entirely.

At this point I can safely say that even if at the end of 12 weeks I don’t see any difference I will at least be able to feel the strength of my mental endurance. Hopefully that will be enough to keep me motivated.

After all, I’m working on being my strongest, healthiest self. What fun would that be if I didn’t have to face a few hurdles in the meantime?

Leave a Reply

