To Read Or Not To Read

What’s the longest you’ve ever gone without reading a book (since learning how to read, of course)? Which book was it that helped break the dry spell?


Throughout my past two months of blogging, I am pretty sure I have made it clear that I love reading. And if I haven’t, let me just state right now that I love to read.

Now that that’s out of the way, I feel that it is imperative to inform everyone that I don’t always read books. I suppose that could be counted as a dry spell from books, but not a dry spell from reading.

If I don’t have my nose stuck in a book it is because I simply do not have time to immerse myself in the fictional realms I often indulge in. Usually that means textbooks have taken over my soul. I will never count those as “books”, because, even though I enjoy reading them for the most part, I do not become lost in them. When that happens, instead of picking up a book in my much sought after spare time, I tend to lean more towards fanfiction. Those are generally shorter, and a much quicker read than novels tend to be. At least the ones I choose. It helps me keep the mediocrity of school-required reading at bay by adding a bit of spice to my brain.

Overall, I’d say it’s hard for me to actually come upon “reader’s block”. I hesitate to say it is impossible, because I know that the minute that phrase crosses my mind I’ll be jinxing myself. That would be really horrible considering I’ve got a lot of school-required reading waiting for me.

I’m also feeling the urge to read a novel. Which means I will probably be up all night in order to cram all my fun reading in with my required reading.

If I’m not around for the next few days, it is probably because I am stuck in this chair.

It’s a good thing I don’t own anything like this chair. I’d never leave.

~J. Spade

One thought on “To Read Or Not To Read

Leave a Reply

