Moonlight Madness

“Follow your inner moonlight; don’t hide the madness.” — Allen Ginsberg

Do you follow Ginsberg’s advice — in your writing and/or in your everyday life?


While it is great to push the limits and test boundaries, it’s also important to know that there is a time and place for everything. Do not let your inner moonlight be diminished by the rules and guidelines set by society, but do not let your madness get you in trouble either.

It’s a fine line, the art of listening to your inner self.

Whether you are focusing on writing or everyday life, you should know when to use your power. A reader is not going to want to read page upon page of ranting madness, just like a person is not going to want to endure hours upon hours of listless ramblings.

Moderation is key, so use it wisely.

I guess the point I’m trying to make is, that with living and writing I hope to keep those around me interested; that’s why I chose a balance between boring and outrageous.

~J. Spade

3 thoughts on “Moonlight Madness

  1. Moderation is the key but they say moderation is for cowards. I don’t think so, a smart man knows when to tell a woman she’s wrong, a wise man knows not to.

    Like

    • I think too much moderation is definitely for cowards, but if I were to write a story filled with descriptions and no dialogue then I would have needed to level it out more. It’s just knowing when and where things are needed to be moderated.

      That is definitely an interesting quote! I’m surprised I haven’t heard it before from one of my brothers, I’ll have to make them aware of it.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Howl at the Moon | Blogged With Words

Leave a Reply

