Make It Count

You’ve been given the opportunity to send one message to one person you wouldn’t normally have access to (for example: the President. Kim Kardashian. A coffee grower in Ethiopia). Who’s the person you choose, and what’s the message?


 

In a world that over 7 billion people call home, how does an individual decide who their one important person is? Are we really picking one person more deserving than the rest? I talk to people of importance every day. We share smiles, conversations, and dreams. These people are important to me, so therefore they are simply important to the world.

When thinking like that, it just makes choosing who will be the recipient of my message that much harder.

The last time I was given a somewhat similar challenge, I wrote to my past-self. While I would love to choose her again, because she needs all the support she can get, I know that it might be more feasible to go a different route.

No, I’m not going to write a message to my future-self either. We might as well write off my present-self too, because I can send words to anyone and they’ll read it.

The truth is of the matter is, I don’t know who that anyone might be.

I could send it to actors/actresses. Any of them would be within the reach of my message. From Jennifer Lawrence to Emma Watson, and from Tom Hiddleston to Robert Downey Jr. They would hear what I had to say. My praise for their talents, and my wishes to just be successful in whatever I choose. It would all flow straight from my mind into theirs, but I’m not sure I would want that.

Then I think of all the people who have performed a heroic act and who have not received the proper glorified praise for it other then the obligatory 15-minutes. As much as I would love to send it to an actor/actress and know that they would actually see my message, I know that I could send them fanmail anyway. It’s not guaranteed that they’ll see it, but it will be addressed to them. The same as the thousand or so similar messages that have their name on it.

My message would be to those who don’t get enough thanks in their life, to the man who saved a baby but only got a tiny news segment and profuse thanks from the family. My letter would be to you. To the woman who stood by the side of a lost young girl just so she knew she wasn’t alone. You can have my thanks. To anyone out there who just got into the school they wanted or who got the job they interviewed for, my letter is to you.

My feelings cannot be condensed to just one person, because there are so many people out there who need to hear it. They need to know that their thoughts and actions are valued. That even though the whole world doesn’t know their name or their face that they are still just as important as those who are well known.

I give my message to those of you who have done or who will do something worth noting, because even though the whole world doesn’t recognize you that does not make you any less important to those in your life. You are great, and you are loved.

We’ve all been given an opportunity to live, so let’s do what we can to make it count.

~J. Spade

 

 

 

One thought on “Make It Count

  1. Hi There,

    Your page is looking great and I love this post. It’s an interesting thought and I love your conclusion. Keep writing, I’m reading.

    Best.

    Like

Leave a Reply

