Deal Breaker

If you had to come up with one question, the answer to which would determine whether or not you could be friends with a person you’ve just met, what would it be? What would the right answer be?


 

We all have those relationship “deal breakers” that sometimes spring out of nowhere. Figuring out the facet of a potential friends personality is something that can save a lot of heartbreak early on.

As contrived as it sounds, I’d like to think that I can be friends with anyone, but we all know the truth for what it is. There are simply people out there who are so incompatible that being around them is torture. That sounds horrible, but it’s true.

My question would probably be somewhat basic, and while I do not know of the question I could always resort to, I do know it would be something along the lines of: What do you think of so-and-so? Whether ‘so-and-so’ references an object or a person, that question will often speak a lot about the person answering.

I have had too many friends trash talk people who didn’t deserve it, and it’s beginning to unnerve me how often it happens. The answer to that question could be my deal-breaker; because if you’re going to treat that person in a bad way behind their back, who is to say that the same will not be done to me?

~J. Spade

5 thoughts on “Deal Breaker

  1. This is actually a very interesting question, and it would be very difficult for me to answer. I guess the deal breaker for me would be a lie. I have got a few friends from my childhood and we have been through rough times, but none of them have lied to me. So honesty would be the thing I value most. If there is something wrong, just tell me, but don’t like to me. 🙂 I like your blog, by the way, so will follow it now, and hope you’ll want to follow mine back.

    Like

    • That’s a big deal breaker for me as well. I’m very protective of animals, and I’ll even make it a point to not watch a movie if I know the animal in it dies a horrible, unnecessary death. You’re very right, the way someone treats an animal shows how he/she will treat people they find ‘below’ them.

      Like

Leave a Reply

