Brevity Pulls

“I would have written a shorter letter, but I did not have the time.” — Blaise Pascal
Where do you fall on the brevity/verbosity spectrum?


 

As I sit here and contemplate where I stand on the scale of brevity versus verbosity, it becomes quite obvious that I tend to be more on the verbose side of things. After all, I did just spend the last couple of hours creating an outline – that is right an outline – that ended up being 5,000 words. The outline was probably far too detailed, but I guess hopefully this way writer’s block will not be an issue.

There are times when I fall more towards brevity. If I do not wish to be talking, which sometimes is during verbal presentations, or if I’m tired or angry I tend to be more clipped with my words.

Whether it a person speaks or writes with brevity or verbosity, it does not make one better than the other. Sometimes brevity works and the same can be said for verbosity. The real talent is finding out which works under the situation. If you can combine the right amount of brevity and verbosity into a story then you will have a true impact. After all, it’s the difference between show and tell in a creative environment.

~J. Spade.

5 thoughts on “Brevity Pulls

  1. I believe that’s why I never delete or throw any of my work away. If I’m feeling like a piece is lacking, I’ll put it away for a few days, or a few weeks and when i finally do get back, I see something different and it sparks something inside me it didn’t before.

    Our minds are strange that way.

    Like

    • That is something I need to do. Whenever I feel like my work is lacking, I always think the best solution is to start all over again; while I don’t encounter the same problem, I do run into an entirely different one that is just as aggravating.

      You are very right though, our minds do operate in the strangest of ways.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

