To Do? Done!

Quickly list five things you’d like to change in your life. Now, write a post about a day in your life once all five have been crossed off your to-do list.


[1.] Become more fit/active
[2.] Finish editing a novel
[3.] Try and get work published
[4.] Become a more active member of society
[5.] Finish school
It’s been a long journey to get to this point in my life. At points I wanted to give up, the struggle and the rejections I faced were not something I looked forward to waking up to in the morning. Some days, giving up would have been easier; but I never liked to call myself a quitter.

The first steps I took to complete my tasks were small. I worked out one day at a time, and tried not to give up on that too quickly. Forming the habit was hard at first, but eventually it came to me and now I actually have fun living an active lifestyle.

Editing my novel was a little more difficult, and it took years. During the time I worked on editing my novel, I also worked to get some of my short stories published. Both journeys proved to be even more difficult than I had imagined, and believe me when I say that I had imagined them to be very difficult to begin with.

Becoming an active member of society was one of the tasks that was not as hard as I had always made it out to be. All I had to do was find things I truly believed in, and outwardly be an advocate for those things. Finishing school was the longest task, and it had the most bumps in the road. Ending with my PhD, I feel more accomplished then ever.

Now all I have to do is finish all the items on my new list. I’ve proven to myself that I can stick with it for the long haul, so I know that I can do it again.

~J. Spade

One thought on “To Do? Done!

Leave a Reply

