Back to School

Growing up, August was like the Sunday of summer vacation. It stirred up mixed feelings, because while part of me was excited to go back to school the other part was anxious about it. I was never the type of person to hate school, even when I was younger. Learning was something I always enjoyed, it gave me a sense of satisfaction.

Call me whatever you’d like, but the thought of school in and of itself was never the issue for me.

The other students were.

Even though my mother always called me her ‘Social Butterfly’, I was always a little bit anxious of my classmates. All I wanted to do was fit in. A normal feeling for many youths out there. Many personality shifts befell me in my years of schooling as I tried to find who I really was. It took me many years, but I believe that I’ve finally found it.

I still love school. Though being the anxious creature that I am, I still get a little nervous when school starts up again. I don’t let it hinder me in the way it used to, instead I try to feed off of that energy.

I guess my overall feelings for school and the month of August haven’t really progressed. Maybe I haven’t changed quite as much as I thought.

~J. Spade

3 thoughts on “Back to School

  1. Pingback: End of Summer… | Thriving Pessimist…

  2. Pingback: The 31st of August 2012 – Washington, DC | Forgotten Correspondence

  3. Pingback: Daily Prompt: August Blues | tnkerr-Writing Prompts and Practice

Leave a Reply

